Next Next Previous Previous


12 13 chInese Japanese dragons Ancient Chinese writers describe four types of dragon the TianLung Celestial Dragon, who guards the dwellings of the gods the Fucang Lung Dragon of Hidden Treasures, who guards the hidden wealth of the earth the popular ShenLung Spiritual Dragon who controls the rain and winds and whose fivetoed Imperial image the Emperor alone was permitted to wear and the celebrated TiLung Earth Dragon who holds the rivers and streams in its power. In all there are nine major types of Chinese dragon. The YingLung Winged Dragon, JiaoLung Horned Dragon, PanLung Coiling Dragon, HuangLung Yellow Dragon and LungWang Dragon Kings complete the picture. In addition there are nine Dragon Children which adorn many Chinese structures see page 58. The number nine is considered especially lucky in China. Dragons have nine attributes and 117 scales, 81 of them male 32 x 32 and 36 female 32 x 22. Chinese dragons are all associated with the masculine Yang force the phoenix symbolises Yin. Chinese and Korean Imperial dragons have five toes on each foot, all other dragons have four toes, but Indonesian and Japanese dragons have three, possibly after the earlier Chinese threeclawed Han style. Japanese dragons include the Ryu which is a large dragon with no wings, and the Tatsu native Japanese dragon which is smaller but has large wings. In Japanese art the dragon is never wholly visible, instead appearing partially hidden in the swirling winds or waves it represents. i. Jade dragon ornament, a dragon carp, and a dragon pot decoration. ii. Tatsu. iii. Hai Ryio, Japanese bird dragon. iv. Shen Lung. v. The dragon king, Lung Wang. i. ii. iii. iv. v.
From Other Books..
Currently Browsing:
Buy and download E-Book PDF
Buy Softback from Amazon
Buy Hardback from Amazon
Keywords on this page
Show fewer keywords
Show more keywords
See Also:
Log In
Authors List
Series Titles
Special Offers
Powered by Ergonet BookBrowser Engine