Next Next Previous Previous

Callanish

47 46 cnOc ceAnn A ghArrAidh Callanish II At the end of a culdesac road, about half a mile to the south west of Callanish, stands another fascinating circle of stones, often referred to as Callanish II. Its Gaelic name, pronounced approximately croc kyain a gaaree, means the hillock at the end of the wall. There are five erect stones, one standing almost ten feet high, plus four or more fallen slabs. As the minor site nearest the main site, this circle was recorded by several antiquarian visitors. After the success of the peat clearance at the main Callanish site, Sir James Matheson had the peat cleared from sites II, III and IV in the following year. See location map, page 55. John Stuarts birds eye view drawing shown opposite clearly shows a cairn and other internal features which were revealed in 1858, shortly before his visit. Stuarts paper was called Notes of Incised Marks on one of a Circle of Standing Stones. He believed, rather gullibly, that a particular stone was marked with deliberate characters, perhaps even Ogham script Undoubtedly, these were naturally occurring cracks. It is the rounded stone, lying a little below the centre of the circle. The stone is said to have been moved to Sir Jamess estate in Stornoway for protection. If so, it was later partially broken up as building material.
From Other Books..
Currently Browsing:
Buy and download E-Book PDF
Buy Softback from Amazon
Buy Hardback from Amazon
Keywords on this page
Show fewer keywords
Show more keywords
See Also:
Log In
Authors List
Comments
Series Titles
Covers
Special Offers
Home
Powered by Ergonet BookBrowser Engine
x